The Louisiana Department of Education held the 9th annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Celebration and Gala.

This event is presented by a partnership of the Louisiana Dept. Of Education, Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals.

The celebration recognizes and honors the state’s most exceptional teachers and school leaders for the year from over 60 districts throughout the state.

The 2016 Teacher and Principal of the year will be announced and also the winners of the grade-level Teacher and Principal of the year in Elementary, Middle, and High School.


Kelly Stomps, 2016 La. Teacher of the Year

2016 Louisiana Teacher of the Year –  Kelly Stomps, Woodlake Elementary, St. Tammany Parish

2016 High School  Teacher of the Year – Nicole Vasquez, Captain Shreve High School

2016 Middle School Teacher of the Year – Summer Skarke, Lacache Middle School

2016 Elementary  Teacher of the Year – Pablo Pato, Geraldine Boudreaux Elementary

2016 Overall Principal of the Year – Carolyn Bosley, Rosepine Elementary School

2016 High School Principal of the Year –  Jim Carroll, West Feliciana High School

2016 Middle School Principal of the Year – Rene Lewis-Carter, Martin Behrman Charter School

2016 Elementary Principal of the Year – Cheri Fontenot, James Stephens Montessori

For in formation on applying for this excellent award click here!